Common field names to key internal databases

Hi folks -

Self-taught user, long-time forum lurker here. I am working with my GIS database manager to set up data entry forms, and while we have a common field name of Accession Number to key the database, she was seeking a second for secure redundancy. She has a specific field name already in use in her database that she would like to use, which is not in Specify.

To the best of my knowledge, it would be particularly challenging to create a new field name within Specify (as opposed to editing a field title), correct? Has anyone set up a common field key between Specify and another internal institutional database that didn’t require the other database to use Specify field names? (Which is the obvious solution; I am trying to not put all of the the onerous on her and learn a little in the process.)

Thanks.

Hi @reaOSGF,

Thanks for reaching out! While others in the community may have more advice to offer, I did want to mention that we do not support adding additional fields to the data model. To maintain consistency between all Specify installations, we encourage all users to change the field caption for an existing field instead!

Would using a field like text1 on the Accession table as a second identifier work in your use case? In the Specify 7.9.3 update we also introduced uniqueness rules configuration so you can have the field be unique at a given level (collection, discipline, division, etc).

Depending on your workflow, you can have the other database interact with and treat text1 (or any required fields) as a dedicated field for your purposes.

I’d be interested to hear from the community as well on what advice/experience they have with interactions like the one you are looking to configure!

Hi @reaOSGF,